Reviews

I made the 200mile journey up to get Murray’s VAN-KING bed-system fitted yesterday, and pressed straight into use camping up on the moors above Bury! Can’t praise the product highly enough, great design and build quality and does not compromise the space in our T5.1 Sportline Kombi. Spent ages chatting to Murray, a really lovely guy and a pleasure to do business with. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending him.
Paul Oxenham Wotton-Under-Edge

After spending months searching for a sleep system that allowed me to keep full use of my T5 shuttle seating, but at weekends quickly convert into a camper, I found this. I must say from the start they were amazing to deal with answering my questions quickly and politely. So I took the plunge and I have to say this is FANTASTIC so easy to fit, great quality, fab design, and very well thought out, it leaves me with all the flexibility of my shuttle, and gained a camper, also it takes seconds to pull out and put away the bed. As for fitting it took longer to get the packaging off the product than to install it, lol.
I would give 6 stars if I could, thanks guys, I will be passing on your cards to my friends. Photos will follow, after I’ve cleaned the bus.

Eliot Cooper

I’ve recently purchased a newish van and I was looking for something that suit the way I enjoy my weekends and still have a daily. I was also concerned about the looks, as my interior has already professionally fitted, but, WOW! VAN-KING has given me both and the customer service was excellent, Murray was a fantastic guy and I would recommend this product to anyone.
Justin Brannan Barrow-in Furness

We have just fitted the amazing VAN-KING bed into our VW T6 V6 transporter shuttle, and we are over the moon, it is an amazing addition to our VW so easy to fit and very comfy, can’t wait for our first trip away, we would recommend this to anyone looking for an easy professional looking campervan conversion, that allows you to still use your vehicle during the week as a people carrier.
We would give 10 stars but there was only 5 available well done, VAN-KING.

Paul Westlake Anglesley

Had a bed fitted to my SWB T6 Kombi. It went in really easily, most of the time was spent drinking tea, and chatting to Murray. He’s a great bloke, very knowledgeable about vans and I can’t recommend his goods and services enough.
The bed is really comfortable and hasn’t stopped my day to day use of the van.
I had a short trip to the lakes to try it out. Recommended.

Paul Voyageur

Fantastic system, well made by a genuinely nice guy. Easiest bed to set up, retains good rear storage and can even be used with all the seats fitted in van, if needed. Best feature by far is the ability to fit a topper and sheet and fold the bed up with them still in place. Love it!
Brian Comb

I have a T5.1 shuttle van and realised during a build none of the bed options fitted. Murray and his team came to the rescue and after just one week had the bed frame and mattress delivered to us. So grateful and eternally thankful.
James Graney Bournemouth

Fantastic addition to ‘Sorrell’ my VW Shuttle. Easily as comfortable as my bed at home, with a lovely well-made mattress. A quick and easy versatile bed system, that takes seconds to fold out and a couple of minutes to get the full height boot space back when needed. Excellent customer service from Murray.
Holly Devine Loughborough

Recently had a Bed fitted in my SWB Kombi. Great piece of kit, keeping the multifunctional use I require. Brilliant service and laid-back approach, to add to an excellent product. No weight, which plenty other bed systems carry. Plenty of scope to manufacture storage units in and around the base frame.
Rear table design shows how much detail has gone into the design.
Couldn’t recommend enough.

Gary Cotton

Just had this system fitted to my LWB Kombi and delighted with it. We were after a non-invasive way of using the van as a camper (it’s a leased vehicle which I’ll have to give back) and this kit simply bolts in and out – can’t wait for our first camping trip to give it a good try out, but, first impressions are strong. Murray very kindly fitted it for me and I’ve just driven the 220 miles back from Bacup, no rattles and as an added bonus, it’s also reduced the road noise. Nice one, thanks Murray.
Kevin Parker Bourne End

These beds are an excellent bit of kit, had one fitted in my Kombi in March and have been camping loads recently with it. So versatile too, can be removed in minutes to make back into a van. Murray is a real nice guy too who gave me some info and pointers with other aspects of the van as I’m new to the VW scene.
Jamie Richardson Halifax

Big thank you to Murray, he fitted my bed system yesterday. Quality piece of kit.
Mark Darlow

After searching for what seemed like ages for the perfect bed system that suited my multipurpose needs I came across the VAN-KING system. Murray at VAN-KING is absolutely amazing! A real genuine guy with fantastic customer service, and answered any questions I had superfast. He went out of his way to help me with a BIG mistake I made when I ordered (Thought I had a LWB, turns out it’s a SWB 🤦‍♂️) The bed is so easy to fit, has full instructions and once up is very sturdy. It arrives well packaged. And you can honestly tell the care and attention that has gone into it! The mattress is phenomenal!!!!!!! (Better than my home one!!) As you can tell, I cannot recommend VAN-KING enough!! If you want a bed system that is super comfortable and well built, and you want the ease of being able to remove it when needed this is 100000% the one you need! Ben McCloud Plymouth 

Can’t recommend these bed systems enough! From the second I starting unwrapping it, it was oozing quality! The welds, the coatings on the metal, the board, the mattress and the fittings are superior quality. The hardest part of the installation was unwrapping the parts! They had been so well protectively packaged for transport that it took longer to unwrap than install! 😆 I have a SWB Kombi T6, everything fitted perfectly and the whole thing was in within 10 minutes! The double layer of storage you get is great for the ‘kitchen sink’ we seem to have to take with us camping! Looking forward to a test run camping later this month. Andrew Kelly Bristol 

I looked around for a bed system for my T5 Multi-Van. When I decided on what type I wanted I checked out you tube and went for VAN-KING. Absolutely delighted with the bed system, excellent quality easy to install delivery on time, packaged really well and nothing seemed to much bother when contacting Murray at VAN-KING. Highly recommend this experience. Thanks again Murray 😁👍 Mick Rawlings Tadley

It was great meeting you today. We are so pleased with our bed system that you installed, it looks so good and the finish is amazing . The mattress is so comfortable and the system is so easy to use. It looks so classy in the rear of our van like it was a VW factory fit. We can’t wait to get away and use it, we are so pleased we found you and would have no hesitation in recommending your system to anyone well done. A very happy LWB Shuttle owner. Murray top bloke. Garry Worcestershire   

Great to meet up with you yesterday. The bed system you supplied and fitted in my Shuttle is fantastic, excellent quality, sturdy and very comfortable mattress. Just want to thank you for your professional service, friendliness and great tips for the van. Dave Cyphus Bournemouth

I just wanted to say how impressed I have been not only with the bed but also with your customer service. The bed system is amazing. Such a great design – comfortable, fantastic quality and looks great. I have been promoting it to many other van owners. Communication and flexibility before purchase, for fitting and after sales could not be any better. Thanks so much Murray. Wish Van-King all the success it deserves. David Mycock – March 2021


Thank you so much, everyone is very excited to be heading to the coast tomorrow. We’re so chuffed, really glad we found your business it’s perfect and doing business was a pleasure, had a nice day out and my brain was fizzing with all the ideas you’ve given me for the van. Jess Sharma – March 2021

Fitted this morning, everything fitted perfectly and very self-explanatory too, probably took me longer to unpack than fit😄, very happy with fit and quality, highly recommended, thank you for the first class service 👍   Alan Davidson – April 2021

All fitted and ready to go camping . We are very happy with product, great quality mattress too . Took me longer to take out of packaging than it did to fit lol . We are very pleased, from when we ordered right up until it was delivered everything has gone smoothly. Thanks again, Highly recommended. Karl Rock – April 2021

Great service, quality goods and a fantastically comfy system. Steve Brown – June 2021

I just wanted to say how pleased we are with the bedding system, such high quality and great from a functional point of view. So much space to store underneath and easy to revert from bed to use of the seats. We are over the moon!  Steve Wybrow – July 2021

After a 12 hour round trip including fitting (and comfort breaks) back home with the awesome VAN-KING bed installed. Superbly designed and engineered with fab features. Absolute pleasure to meet the designer and owner of Van-King and chat all things VW whilst he showed me how to install the bed. Couldn’t help strip it back to open back mode as soon as I got home and reinstall to take a series of photos. Looking forward to a trip away with the van next week. Duncan Smith – July 2021

We got the travelling bug having been around the Scottish NC500 in a trailer tent. However, I found the trailer tent hard work pegging out, and with a bad back, not ideal for me and my wife. We decided to buy a VW LWB T6 Transporter. While waiting for the van we started to look for a bed and came across VAN-KING. Spoke to Murray on the phone about the bed he said you can come and have a look at our demo van. We picked up the van on a Friday and went straight to VAN-KING and met Murray. Proper nice guy and no hard sell, had a mooch around his van and decided that we wanted one. Murray said he would fit it there and then, just 20 mins later all fitted even got offered a brew. I have briefly tried the bed and is very comfy and roomy with breathable mattress and plenty of storage underneath. Murray is a genuine guy, very knowledgeable, knows what he is talking about and very helpful. My wife is over the moon with the bed. I highly recommend VAN-KING.  Mick Tynan October 2021

I would highly recommend the VAN-KING system if like me you want the versatility of your kombi, but also need a bed for camping like myself. Murray was very friendly and happy to show me how to get the best out of the system, and also took the time to show me his van for some inspiration for other bits for mine. Tom Wilkinson – February 2022

After doing a lot research and looking a different systems for a T5.1 Kombi I called Murray, what can I say, what a helpful guy he answered all my questions.
I booked in and drove up from the Midlands and was glad I picked this system, when I seen it up close as a lot of thought has gone into the design.
All in all I would totally recommend VAN-KING for a great product and dealing with Murray was an absolute pleasure.
Scott Wykes – February 2022

Our bed was fitted yesterday in our T6 Shuttle…..over the moon with it. Great customer service from start to finish, excellent quality and perfect fit.
Looking forward to some adventures now.
Louise Collins – February 2022

Absolutely fantastic, can’t wait to get on the road and plan some adventures. Lorna Watkins – March 2022

Thank you so much for the bed which I have now put into the van. Absolutely love it. Such good quality. Over the moon with it, so big thank you for that. We are going away this weekend and can’t wait to use it! Ben Davies – April 2022

We just wanted to contact you to say Wow!! From dealing with you via email, to the excellent courier who was friendly, helpful and courteous, to the superb packing, to the easy to follow instructions to the absolute comfort of the bed, everything has just been first class!!!  We just wanted to say thank you!! We did so much research in to what bed to get and we are more than happy with our choice!! Thank you thank you thank you. Kind regards and all the best for your future and the future of your fabulous business.  Ray and Kelly Laws – May 2022

Met Murray last night, who fitted this incredible bed free of charge. It was crazy late, but he didn’t mind and the service was absolutely excellent. The bed itself looks very well made, sturdy, and most importantly, comfy. Can’t wait to take it out for its first sleep soon. I looked at a number of copy cat style options before contacting Van King, and honestly, I’m so glad I went for the original, it’s brilliant! Highly recommended. James MacDonald – May 2022

1st impressions on a Van-King Kombi bed. After several sleep deprived nights upstairs in the Pop Top we decided enough was enough. We needed a better night’s sleep. After much reading and YouTube viewing Michelle decided to contact Murray @Van-King. After a few emails a fitting appointment was made. Simples. Turned up for the fitting, Murray is a lovely chap (I dare not say otherwise. The Guy has been on Gladiators). After some pleasant chit chat, coffee, and biscuits, Murray set about the installation. He made this look a breeze, and it is. So sturdy and well made, it is a proper piece of kit, mattress in and bingo, it’s fantastic, versatile and comfortable. It’s everything we needed, so pleased we went to Murray for a bed system. I’m the type of person that does not leave reviews on this occasion I just felt I had to, it’s so good. Thanks again Murray, all the Best going forwards. Rich and Michelle – June 2022

Just made the 240-mile round trip to see Murray. He’s fitted this for me today, I’m absolutely over the moon. Had a full camper before but this system in my kombi works so much better for me. Can’t wait for Camper Jam. Cheers Murray, a pleasure to meet you. Gary Brown – June 2022

Bed arrived yesterday with your fantastic courier and thanks for the hassle-free purchase. I have previously built custom campervans so used various systems. Your system is exactly what I thought it would be, very high quality and a really nice design. I have moved away from driving around in a full camper, so I will be building my Kombi with a small unit in place of the single seat, more of a useable weekender, thanks again.    Matt Wills – July 2022

That was such a straight-forward, logical, and simple installation.  Less than 30 minutes from start to finish!! Looks great and feels very spacious and comfortable. My wife gives it the thumbs up and couldn’t believe how quickly it went together, without a swear word from me!! I’m sure we’ll have many years enjoying this new bed in our Transporter, many thanks.  Pete and Helen Birks – July 2022

We picked up our van from Vanhaven in Dorset on 19-08 then drove straight up to meet Murray whom I had contacted previously as I was going to France on 23-08 and needed the bed installed. Although we were initially taking our caravan the ferry cost has risen dramatically so we put the money to better use on a vango drive away awning hence the bed requirement. Since first contact Murray could not have been more helpful and flexible. He had the bed made with the bespoke bits added I needed as I have a Shuttle layout of seats in a panel van and kept a few days free for me to visit. We spent a while with him whilst he fitted the bed and demonstrated all the options to me. We also spent a long time talking about VW like you do. Murray is a lovely person and very knowledgeable and was a pleasure to visit. Anyway we have now returned from our French holiday and have spent 15 nights sleeping in the van, so comfortable, fantastic build quality and gives great storage options. We will probably sell the caravan now as the new set up is so easy. Thank you Murray for all your help, fantastic product and service. Paul Phipps – August 2022

I bought a bed for my VW Transporter T5.1 Long Wheelbase … Murray was brilliant and couldn’t do enough to make sure I was happy with my purchase … Highly Recommended. Simon Johnson – August 2022

We went to get the Van King bed system installed over the weekend by Murray. We can’t wait to have some adventures with it, just what we are after. Murray is a great guy and has produced a great piece of fabrication. Highly recommended. Stefan Rostron – September 2022

Fully tested my new van and Van King bed this week. Making small conversions to suit. Highly recommended. Thanks Murray Steve Brookwell – September 2022

Made the 8-hour return journey to pick up my second bed system from Murray. Without a doubt the most comfortable bed I have had in a transporter (I have had most alternatives!). New van purchased with the intention of going a similar route but incorporating Murray’s new sliding tray system. Tim Adams – October 2022

Thanks Van-King for my new steel slider tray. Murray and the guys retrofitted the tray to my existing van-king bed system yesterday. The whole set up is engineered and manufactured extremely well. The draw slides in and out effortlessly, even when fully loaded and the carpet mat finishes it off perfectly. A very useful addition to the van. I would like to the mention exceptional customer service I received from Murray and the guys at the factory, they sorted out a dodgy tie down bolt hole that was causing an issue with the bed system and made sure the whole system was working perfectly before letting me go. Ben Clifford – November 2022

Want to know more?

VAN KING SYSTEMS LTD. trading as VAN-KING®

Company Head Office:

3 St. Mary’s Place
Bury
BL9 0DZ
Tel: 07813011578

All rights, title and interest of whatever nature (including but not limited to copyright design rights and trademark protection relating to VAN-KING® bed system) and all intellectual property rights, vest in and belong to VAN-KING®.

VAN-KING® TRADEMARK REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE UK00003670609. INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY OFFICE: REGISTRATION CERTIFICATES (UK DESIGN), BED FRAME AND MATTRESS, 6149479, 6149480, 6149481, 6149482, 6149483.

Companies House Registration No. 14310604

%d bloggers like this: